Floriks Fantastereien

Takeaways from running Isekai PBP

You probably know that Isekai is a genre of Manga revolving around a real-world protagonist thrown into a fantastical world. I didn't, so I thought I'd mention it.

The one page RPG Isekai PBP is a Push-powered system. The author, Tom McGrenery, describes it as "inverted play by post": The players here don't portray characters. Instead, the conceit is that the facilitator's alter ego gets whisked away into a strange world. They are now asking for help from their friends via some messaging app or forum. It is the players' job to advise them and provide options how to resolve any problems.

I have run two adventures in Isekai PBP: an old MERP module called Iffguld's Keep by Jessica Ney and Slumbering Ursine Dunes by Chris Kutalik. I also played in B10: Night's Dark Terror run by the author of Isekai PBP himself.

I very much enjoyed running Isekai PBP and would do so again. As mentioned, though, I'd feel tempted to try out a binary resolution mechanic next time.

#play-by-post #takeaways